Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Joshua tutors in Brentwood, TN

Joshua D.

Private tutor in Brentwood, TN

Education

Bachelor's of Science Degree - Communication - with Honors from the University of Tennessee. Minor in French - Officer of "Pi Delta Phi," UT's National French Honor's Society Chapter.

Experience

I tutored French privately to NCAA athletes while at University, have volunteered at elementary schools tutoring French in the evenings, but most importantly I have lived in France for the duration of a school year in Avignon, Provence, where I taught English to middle and high school students. I can handle difficult students and assignments and have no problems issuing disciplinary action. I want to be a tutor because of my experience of course, but also because I know how natives speak and the classrooms do not prepare you one hundred percent for immersion and living abroad, which is the final goal for many students. I can make students speak like French people, which will you earn you their respect. Other interesting facts about me regarding work experience: I'm a freelance video producer and hope to go to grad school or move to a larger city in the future! I have interned at the Second City in Toronto and worked at Knoxville's Jewelry Television. My favorite French subjects are cuisine, oenology, viticulture, geography, regional history, The French Revolution, Parisian culture, economic relations, diplomacy, and generational differences.

Availability

Weekdays after 9AM

Can Meet

Up to 25 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I love cooking, traveling, hiking, animals, video games, and hockey! I'm a fan of the Preds of course, but my parents are Toronto Maple Leafs and Montreal Canadiens fans. I've lived in Australia, Canada, France, and of course America. I'm a Nashville native with dual citizenship with Canada. My favorite thing about French and France in general is the gastronomy and the way they dress!

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!